• Icon Print

The executive team


Chief Commissioner

The Hon Peter Hall QC

The Hon Peter Hall QC was appointed Chief Commissioner for a five-year term from 7 August 2017. Mr Hall was admitted to practice as a solicitor in 1970, and was admitted to the Bar Association of NSW in June 1974. He was appointed Queens Counsel in 1992.

Mr Hall acted as counsel assisting the Building Industry Royal Commission and the inquiry into the Waterfall Train Disaster. He is a previous Assistant Commissioner of the ICAC, and has also acted as Counsel Assisting the Commission.

Mr Hall was appointed to the Supreme Court of NSW in 2005 as a Judge in the Common Law Division, and has also sat in the Equity Division, the Court of Criminal Appeal and the Criminal Trial Division. He retired from the Supreme Court in December 2016.

Areas of professional interest include the principles of unconscionability, fair dealing and duress in the formation of contractual relationships; integrity principles in government and public administration; and commissions of inquiry – powers and procedures. Publications include Unconscionable Contracts and Economic Duress (1985) (CCH) and Investigating Corruption and Misconduct in Public Office: Commissions of Inquiry Powers and Procedures (2004) (Lawbook C. Thomson Legal) – second edition currently in progress.


Ms Patricia McDonald SC

Patricia (Trish) McDonald SC was appointed part-time Commissioner for a five-year term from 7 August 2017.

Ms McDonald is an honours graduate in Economics and Law from the University of Sydney and from Oxford University with a Bachelor of Civil Law (Hons).

She practises at the NSW Bar and was appointed Senior Counsel in 2010.  Ms McDonald has specialised in large and complex litigation and has specialist expertise in litigation involving corporate fraud, tax avoidance, breach of director’s duties, drug importation and terrorism.

She also practises in employment and industrial law and in regulatory and civil penalty matters. Ms McDonald has appeared as Counsel Assisting and for interested parties in inquests and Royal Commissions. Ms McDonald has an interest in sports law, having appeared before the Court of Arbitration for Sport, and is a member of the AFL NSW/ACT Appeals Tribunal.

Mr Stephen Rushton SC

Stephen Rushton SC was appointed part-time Commissioner for a five-year term from 7 August 2017.

Mr Rushton completed his tertiary studies at the University of Sydney. He was admitted to the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1979. He was admitted to the degree of Bachelor of Laws with First Class Honours in 1981. 

Before being called to the Bar in 1986, Mr Rushton practiced as a solicitor in a large commercial firm and subsequently at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (Cth). He was appointed Senior Counsel in 2000.

Prior to his appointment as a Commissioner a significant part of Mr Rushton’s practice involved matters before investigatory bodies and commissions of inquiry including the ICAC, the Police Integrity Commission, and the NSW Coroner’s Court.

Mr Rushton held the statutory position of Environmental Counsel to the Environment Protection Authority from 1997 to 5 May 2020. He is a member of the New South Wales Bar Association and the Australian Academy of Forensic Sciences.

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Philip Reed

Philip Reed was appointed Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Commission on 2 July 2018.

Mr Reed has over 35 years’ experience in public sector administration across four government jurisdictions (NSW, Queensland, Victoria and most recently the Australian Government).  He has extensive experience in leading and implementing reforms across a wide range of policy areas, and has a track record of delivering outcomes in large, complex, service delivery organisations. He has a very good understanding of public sector leadership and the environment in which it operates, and also has extensive experience in how government works, including the Cabinet and Parliamentary processes and procedures.

Prior to joining the ICAC, Mr Reed was the CEO of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, between June 2014 and March 2018. He was Director-General of the Department of Justice and Attorney-General and Director-General of the Department of Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts in the Queensland Government. He also held senior roles in the Victorian Government, including Deputy Secretary, Government and Corporate Group in the Department of Premier and Cabinet, and Under Secretary of the Department of Sustainability and Environment.
In NSW, Mr Reed held a variety of roles over a 20-year period including Branch Manager, Cabinet Secretariat, and Policy Manager, Natural Resources Branch in the Cabinet Office, General Manager, Corporate Governance in NSW WorkCover, and Deputy Director-General of the Department of Energy, Utilities and Sustainability.

Solicitor to the Commission/Executive Director, Legal Division

Mr Roy Waldon LLB (Hons)

Roy Waldon was appointed to the position of Solicitor to the Commission/Executive Director, Legal, in June 2005.

Mr Waldon previously practised law both in Tasmania and NSW before joining the ICAC.

Executive Director, Investigation Division

Ms Bernadette Dubois

Bernadette Dubois was appointed Executive Director, Investigation Division, on 30 January 2020. Ms Dubois joined the Commission as a Chief Investigator in 2004.  

Ms Dubois commenced her career with the NSW Police in 1984, where she undertook various roles including uniform duties, and as a Detective including with Bondi Detectives, the Drug Enforcement Agency, Office of the Solicitor and Special Crime and Internal Affairs. Ms Dubois moved to Western Australia in 2002 where she was a Chief Investigator with the then Western Australian Anti-Corruption Commission and later a consultant to the Western Australian Police Force, Professional Standards Command.

Executive Director, Corruption Prevention Division

Mr Lewis Rangott BEc (Hons) MCom

Lewis Rangott started his corruption prevention career at the Commission in 2003 as a senior corruption prevention officer and principal officer. He then held senior corruption prevention roles in the public and private sectors before being appointed to the position of Executive Director, Corruption Prevention, in May 2017. Mr Rangott is also a certified fraud examiner.

Executive Director, Corporate Services Division

Mr Andrew Koureas MComm (Accounting) BComm LLB FCPA

Andrew Koureas was appointed to the position of Executive Director, Corporate Services, in October 2008.

Mr Koureas has held senior positions in finance and accounting within the public sector including the NSW Department of Housing and NSW Health. He is a fellow member of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants.