• Icon Print

MEDIA ALERT: ICAC public inquiry into lobbying starts Monday

Friday 2 August 2019

The NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption’s (ICAC) public inquiry into the regulation of lobbying, access and influence in NSW (Operation Eclipse) will start next Monday, 5 August 2019 at 10:00 am.

Further details about Operation Eclipse are available here. A witness list for the first week of the public inquiry is attached. Please note that this list is subject to change.

Chief Commissioner the Hon Peter Hall QC will preside at the public inquiry, and Counsel Assisting the Commission will be Dr Nicholas Chen SC and Juliet Curtin.

The Commission intends to live stream the proceedings in this public inquiry via the ICAC website. The live stream will be accessible under “News and media” on the Commission’s homepage from 10:00 am on Monday 5 August 2019.

The inquiry will initially sit for two-to three days, and will then adjourn until October.

Operation Eclipse differs from investigations usually conducted by the Commission in that it is not concerned with examining whether any particular individual may have engaged in corrupt conduct, but rather seeks to examine particular aspects of lobbying activities and the corruption risks involved in the lobbying of public authorities and officials.

A short media briefing will be held on the first day from 9:30 am on procedural and logistical matters.

Time:             9:30 am – short media briefing
                     10:00 am – inquiry commences

Date:             Monday 5 August 2019

Location:      ICAC Hearing Room
                      Level 7, 255 Elizabeth Street, Sydney




Week beginning Monday 5 August 2019

Please note that this list is subject to change.

Monday 5 August
Professor AJ Brown         Griffith University/Transparency International
Dr Simon Longstaff          The Ethics Centre

Tuesday 6 August
Ms Kate Griffiths                The Grattan Institute
Ms Annabelle Warren        Public Relations Institute of Australia
Professor Mark Evans      Canberra University, Director Democracy 2025 at the Museum of Australian Democracy

Wednesday 7 August
Dr Yee-Fui Ng                   Monash University