• Icon Print

MEDIA ALERT: ICAC public inquiry into corruption allegations concerning Gandangara LALC board and CEO starts Monday

Friday 6 May 2016

The NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) Operation Greer public inquiry into allegations concerning the Gandangara Local Aboriginal Land Council (GLALC) will start on Monday, 9 May 2016 at 10:00 am.

The public inquiry will examine allegations that, between 2010 and March 2014, GLALC board members partially exercised their official functions by agreeing to employment arrangements with GLALC chief executive officer Mark Johnson under which his company, Waawidji Pty Ltd, derived benefits from the GLALC or its associated entities.

Other allegations that the inquiry will examine include that Mr Johnson improperly exercised his public official functions, by: between March 2011 and April 2013, authorising the transfer of GLALC funds to Gandangara Future Fund Ltd (GFF); between 2009 and 2013, authorising the payment of GLALC funds for the benefit of Deerubbin, Walgett and La Perouse Local Aboriginal Land Councils, and partly for the benefit of Waawidji Pty Ltd; and between 2010 and 2014, claiming the provision of benefits from GLALC or its associated entities for himself or Waawidji Pty Ltd, including money, to which he knew he was not lawfully entitled.

The ICAC Commissioner, the Hon Megan Latham, will preside at the public inquiry, and Counsel Assisting the Commission will be Mr Michael Henry SC and Mr Simon Fitzpatrick. The inquiry is set down for three weeks. A short media briefing will be held from 9:30 am on procedural and logistical matters. A witness list for the first week of the public inquiry is attached. Please note that this list is subject to change.

Time:                9:30 am – short media briefing
                        10:00 am – inquiry commences

Date:              Monday 9 May 2016

Location:       ICAC Hearing Room
                        Level 7, 255 Elizabeth Street, Sydney





Week beginning Monday 9 May 2016

Please note that this list is subject to change


Monday 9 May 2016                    
Shane Luke
Gloria Provest

Tuesday 10 May 2016                             
Vicki Wade
Carol Brown
Ian Edwards                    

Wednesday 11 May 2016
Kiera Edwards
Merv Donovan
Dennis Thorne

Thursday 12 May 2016
Dorothy Shipley
Wendy Morgan
John Dickson
George Bloomfield
Rohan Tobler

Friday 13 May 2016
David Wing
Karen Maltby
Shalesh Gundar

Media contact: ICAC Manager Communications & Media, Nicole Thomas, 02 8281 5799 / 0417 467 801